Into the New Year

Happy New Year!

A belated Happy New Year to you all! 😀 I hope 2009 brings you good health, much happiness and some lovely memories to look back on and cherish. For those of you making New Year’s resolutions may I wish you all the very best. As for myself the only resolution I have is to simply survive the year and to hope that the disease plays nice with me and doesn’t take away my ability to walk (my leg muscles are definitely weakening). With spring not so far away I shall be looking forward to getting out of the house for some much needed fresh air and sunlight (I’m growing tired having skin the colour of frozen chicken :-(). I’ve been cooped up in the house for quite some time now and could do with a change of scenery (preferably somewhere hot). At the moment however with temperatures lower then parts of Greenland, home is definitely the place to be, especially right now as I’ve just noticed that it has started to snow. In fact I feel a little tune coming on…

.

“Oh the weather outside is frightful,

But the fire is so delightful,

And since we’ve no place to go,

Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!”

.

Christmas came and went in a blur…as usual. The older I get the faster time seems to fly. I guess our perception of time changes as we age. Something to discuss with Professor Hawking the next time I see him (I help him with his sums now and again :-D).

For the most part Christmas was a quiet affair with only my carers calling in to look after me. Boxing Day was much more enjoyable and spent in the company of my brother and his wife. Unwrapping presents proved to be a real challenge this time as my hands are getting quite bad now. I’m losing a lot of the dexterity and strength that I once had. Even trying to separate paper held together by sticky tape was a real struggle that left me feeling weak – but I managed to do it. I got some nice presents as always, although truth be told the lovely coffee table books like The Wildlife Photographer of the Year are not terribly practical for someone with so much upper limb disability. It’s so difficult for me now to even pick up books, let alone be able to separate and turn the pages. But stubbornness and a determination to enjoy this lovely annual collection of photographs won out over common sense. I’m becoming more difficult to buy gifts for. I do have a few photos from the day to post which I’ll upload shortly. Sadly I think my days of taking pictures are at an end. I did try to take a few on Boxing Day but it was a complete disaster and I had to give up (and that was with the camera mounted on a monopod with a cable release attached).

Gaining some inspiration from all the Wallace & Gromit I watched over Christmas I think I’ll need to engineer myself some Arm-O-Matics as my attempt to take advantage of the January sales and buy a whole new set of arms in The Body Shop was a failure. Sure, they had some in stock but just not in my size and I thought somebody is bound to notice if I start walking around with my knuckles dragging along the ground :-).

So here we are already a week into the New Year. The close where I live is devoid of cars once again and everyone has gone back to work – except me. A couple of times a day there is a flurry of activity outside as young mums pull into the close to pick their children up from school, turning the close into a car park. Apart from that it’s very quiet. As for me I spend far too much time on the computer these days as my options dry up in addition to listening to music, reading and wondering what the year will bring. Time will tell.

Mark

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

