Tuesday, February 9th 2010

First night!

Well I’ve survived my first night trialling the use of a conveen and despite the embarrassment of having a carer put it on I seemed to be able to tolerate it well. Mind you actually being able to ‘go’ when lying in a horizontal position is no easy thing and I did experience a degree of discomfort of wanting to go and couldn’t before things sorted themselves out. I guess it’s trying to overcome a lifetime of standing or sitting in an upright position and a natural fear perhaps that people have from childhood of not wanting to wet the bed! As for getting it off in the morning there was no way I was going to tolerate having a carer fumble around trying to remove the sheaf which is designed to stick to the skin quite firmly to prevent leakage. I found the best way to remove it ‘pain-free’ is simply to leave it on for a few minutes while soaking in a hot bath. It is then a relatively easy matter to pull off! I’ve probably give you way too much detail but hey, this is all part and parcel of what living with MND is all about and one of the roles of this blog is to raise awareness of what it is like to have MND and how you have to adapt your lifestyle.

So what did I think of it? Well once you can overcome the embarrassment and a further encroachment on your dignity it is easy to see the advantages. For starters I had a more rested night and didn’t burn up lots of energy struggling to push back/reposition the duvet cover every time I had to get out of bed. It also eliminated the fear of being trapped on the bed and needing to get up, as well as removing the risk of falling over in the middle of the night and possibly seriously hurting myself. So in summary I would say that having it has brought me some peace of mind and removed what was becoming a very traumatic time of the day.

Mark

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

