Thursday, April 8th 2010

Some very good news!

I’m in a really good mood today. I’ve finally received the news that I had been hoping and praying for ever since we started looking into extending the house and submitting planning applications. Last night shortly before 9 PM I received a phone call from Marion, my OT, who’d just come away from attending a planning committee meeting. She was calling to give me the good news that my second application to build a downstairs bedroom and bathroom on the side of the house had been granted! Actually it wasn’t me who took the call, but I could hear Debbie downstairs jumping for joy and running up the stairs with the phone and a big smile on her face. Instinctively I suspected who it could be as I was of course aware of the committee meeting and was secretly hoping that somebody would contact me that evening. Well I can tell you it was smiles all round last night and it felt like a great weight had been lifted. I’ve had this dark cloud of uncertainty hanging over me for months now. As the weeks and months have gone by and my health continued to deteriorate I began to worry ever more about the outcome and what it would mean if I should fail. I’ve spent so much time battling to overturn a decision made last year which I felt was unfair and without any real grounds that I felt I was getting to a point where I would just have to go with what I had even though I knew it would make me deeply unhappy. But I’m pleased to say that everything has turned out the way I had hoped in the end although the decision reached by the committee was by no means unanimous.

So today I’ve been busy writing e-mails thanking the various people such as my palliative care doctor, my OT, and my local councillor, who have all contributed either vocally or by writing letters of support that were read ahead of the committee meeting. Although it was my stubbornness and refusal to accept the original rejection it has been something of a team effort to overturn the original decision. However I’m still being told that personal circumstances play no part in the decision-making process of planning applications, but I would like to think that the weight of opinion by the various healthcare professionals played at least some part even if only subconsciously.

I’m hoping that things will start to move now as I’ve already been trapped upstairs for the first quarter of this year and I desperately want to get out into the fresh air and have a change of scenery. The next step will be to finalise the spec and send it out to tender. We will then have to wait for the various builders to put together their quotes so that the council can deliberate over them and award the contract. Considering the general state of the economy and the construction industry I’m hoping that once a builder has been identified they will be able to start quickly.

I am so happy about this news as I can now look forward to making the most of my available resources and maintaining the highest quality of life under the circumstances. Not only will all the transfers and handling be much easier but I can also continue to appreciate my garden and get fresh air via a level access patio which I’ll be able to make use of for meals and drinks. I’ll also have a light and airy dining/work area rather than an oppressive one, I’ll have the room to entertain guests and have easy access to the outside world so my carers will be able to take me out in a wheelchair very easily, and at the end of the day I’ll be able to sleep in a bedroom without the concern of a sewer inspection cover close by.

Looking out the window of my study and I can see the sun is still shining casting long shadows whilst all the nearby houses are bathed in evening light. The sky has been a beautiful blue all day although now the fluffy white clouds are tinged a shade of grey on their underside as they pass serenely by. Yes it has been a really good day for me. I woke feeling refreshed after a good night’s rest, Ann cooked me a delicious fried breakfast that left me feeling fit to burst, Gavin the Gardner has returned to tend my garden after a long winter break, my friends from Basingstoke Neighbour Care, Jim and Val, dropped by this afternoon to say hello, and Debbie is busy making me a delicious cheese and bacon omelette.

And on that note I think I’ll quit while I’m ahead! smile_regular

Mark

Bookmark and Share

One Response to Thursday, April 8th 2010

  1. jane c says:

    Just FABULOUS! What more needs to be said? Let’s hope they get a move on now, so that you can start reaping the benefits as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

