Sunday, August 22nd 2010

End of the week catch up

Okay, it’s time for a bit of a catch up on the day-to-day stuff which has been rather neglected of late as I poured all my energy since leaving the hospice into migrating the blog to its new home. That project is almost complete now and the next step will be to raise the profile of the blog so that it shows up in search engines. My old blog site did very well in Google search and I’m hoping that the new one will fair just as well now that I have registered it. In the meantime it has been encouraging to see that traffic during the first full week has been quite good. It’s certainly nice to see familiar names find their way to the new site! And thank you for all the lovely comments I’ve received lately. They are always very much appreciated.

Aches and pains

I’m starting to get a lot more pain in my arms and shoulders now. In fact it’s even starting to become a problem in my legs and neck. I suspect it’s a combination of disease progression, i.e. muscle wastage, and lack of mobility. After lying in one position all night my muscles simply stiffen up to the point where it is quite painful to be handled. I get the same problem now sitting in a wheelchair all day. In fact when I think of it there is a clean split straight down the middle regarding how I spend my time i.e. 12 hours in bed (not all asleep) and 12 hours in the wheelchair. Perhaps it’s small wonder then that I’m getting so many muscular problems now. I do of course still have some passive physiotherapy exercises performed on me each day but at times it does feel like we’re fighting a losing battle. In fact because my arms have become so immobile now we are repositioning and giving them gentle exercises every couple of hours. It’s a case of three wiggles, two waggles and no woggles! In fact one of the first things you learn in physiotherapy school is to never woggle a client. Can you imagine the headlines if it ever got out: ‘Man found woggled’! smile_regular

A consequence of sitting in a forward facing wheelchair all day is that you tend to look straight ahead for long periods of time. This has the effect of 1) only seeing people as they appear in your field of view, and 2) getting a stiff neck. I’ve started noticing lately that it is becoming a bit painful at times to turn my head through 90° in either direction. Now I have to try and remember to make a concerted effort to move my head from side to side at frequent intervals to alleviate the problem.

The above problems once again show how a lack of regular movement in any particular muscle group soon leads to problems. Just think for a moment how much an able-bodied person will consciously and subconsciously move the various parts of their body during the course of a day. When I think back to all the cycling and walking, the gardening, the DIY and other physical exercises I used to do. Sigh…

One thing I have started to do recently when I’m hoisted up from the bed each morning is to use my legs to swing backwards and forwards as I push against the mattress. My carers thought I was doing it for the fun of it but I’m actually doing it for the exercise and as a last defiant gesture against an unrelenting disease. So for a few minutes each morning I can create this illusion of moving myself as I sway backwards and forwards. And yes it’s fun too! smile_regular

Care package

We’re in high summer and as usual for this time of year my care package is creaking and groaning a bit as various people in the team take their annual holidays. This time round I have the added problem of requiring double ups several times a day and this places a further burden on the care agency to allocate staff. The one person they did allocate to be a regular helper on the double ups has been off more than on lately and at the moment I seem to have an endless stream of strangers coming through the door every couple of evenings. This is far from ideal particularly as it is always at the times when my care is most personal. And to be honest I’m getting really tired of lying half naked and paralysed on my bed whilst yet another perfect stranger stares down at me!

On a far more positive note it was only through this constant stream of new faces was I introduced to a very charming young Nepalese woman who created a big impact with me from the word go with her quick learning, proactive approach to work. Here was someone who was using her initiative rather than standing around waiting to be told every little thing. In many ways she reminded me of the way Francesca used to work, particularly as both of them came to me with very little experience of working in the care industry. I guess with some people it just comes naturally. And like Francesca she has a very friendly and likeable personality that I found myself instantly warming to. As the marketing folks would like to say, she ticks all the right boxes! I’m now keeping my fingers crossed that she can join my care team on a regular basis fingerscrossed.

And lastly, at least on the subject of care, I would like to say a really big thank you to Debbie who has done so much to keep the care package running as smoothly as possible these past couple of weeks. She has amazingly worked 11 consecutive nights, in addition to all the weekday and weekend hours she has done for me, whilst covering for other staff who are on holiday. What a trooper!

A bit of an emergency!

I had a real fright last Friday morning when Ann greeted me by telling me that water was dripping through the kitchen ceiling adjacent to the strip light and pooling on the floor! I’m normally fairly sleepy first thing in the morning but with news like this I immediately pricked up my ears as the one real fear I have is being trapped and paralysed in a burning building. And as we all know water and electricity do not mix!

A quick peek in the airing cupboard directly above the kitchen revealed a wet carpet. This was traced back to a weeping valve controlled by one of the electric zone actuators. Whatever happened must have occurred during the night whilst I was sleeping. I shudder to think what could have happened if the water had found its way into the zone actuator or the strip light.

We tried contacting my local plumber but couldn’t get a response. In the end the solution was much closer to hand. The builders working just outside in the garden were able to contact a plumber they use and who subsequently turned up at the door within the hour, identified what needed to be done, went away to get some parts, drained the system down, replaced the parts, refilled the system and had everything working again by lunchtime. Although it was only one of the valves which had failed I decided to have them both replaced as they were both the same age. I figured it was only a matter of time before the other one went anyway.

* * *

And finally just before I sign off I would like to say thank you to my friends Bill and Kim from Eli Lilly who have both sent me some very nice e-mail letters lately. They were very much appreciated.

Mark

Bookmark and Share

One Response to Sunday, August 22nd 2010

  1. Kim Saunders says:

    Mark,

    Happy Birthday for tomorrow. I hope your pain gives you a bit of a rest on your birthday.

    Kim x

Leave a Reply

