Merry Christmas

One of my eco-friendly limited-edition e-cards. Only virtual trees were harmed in its manufacture! 🙂

To all my family, friends, fellow PALS (people with ALS), and those kind enough to drop by, I wish you all a very merry Christmas. And if you don’t happen to celebrate Christmas then I wish you a happy holiday!

Outside my study window the colour is predominantly white. Snow carpets the ground whilst overhead looms a white featureless sky from which snow is steadily falling. It is very cold out and the roads feeding into the housing estates are slippery and treacherous. But I am far removed from the elements here in my cosy study and so have lost all touch with what it’s like having to get about out there.

I would like to say a big thank you to my aunt Joan who was kind enough this year to take up secretarial duties and sort out all my Christmas cards. So to all of you out there who have received cards from me and cannot work out the writing (on the envelope) – now you know!

I would also like to thank those of you who have sent Christmas cards this year. They are very much appreciated and it is nice to know I’ve not been forgotten even by those I have not seen for a while. Thank you all. I’ve got a nice little collection here on my desk. And apologies to anyone who I have forgotten to send a card to this year or whose address I don’t have. Sandra, if you’re reading this, I did send you a card but it has gone to your old house and I’ve just discovered you’ve moved.

And so before I sign off will you join me in a traditional Christmas song that was written by Irving Berlin Way back in 1942 and updated for the 21st century by me a couple of years ago! Okay, to the tune of White Christmas

.

I’m dreaming of some new neurones

Just like the ones I used to know

May your days be merry and bright.

And may all your neurones work right!

.

Now go and enjoy yourselves… Eat, drink and be merry. Enjoy the festive season and cherish the moment because life is precious at the best of times!

Mark

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to Merry Christmas

  1. Barbara says:

    How much we do love you, Mark.
    Happy Christmas to you, too!

  2. Jason Glover says:

    Merry Christmas, brother. And I did sing the song. 🙂

  3. Christian Glover says:

    Merry Christmas from your brother in Edinburgh x

Leave a Reply

