Tuesday, December 28th 2010

Normality returns

After the long drawn out run up to Christmas that seems to start before some people have even taken their summer holiday, the actual day always seems something of an anti-climax. It certainly flew by just like any other day now that care consumes such a large percentage of my waking hours. And with little of interest to punctuate it the day was soon forgotten. Christmas itself held little attraction for me this year and I am much more looking forward to being able to get out of the house on a regular basis and get much-needed fresh air. I am truly tired of living in an artificial environment. That for me will be like Christmas every day although I suppose you can only truly understand that if you were in a similar situation.

As for my furry little friend, well he did very well this year from Father Meerkat. Auntie Debbie gave him a full set of winter knitwear that she had specially made, which included a bobble hat, scarf, mittens on strings, little booties and even a tail warmer! He’s all set now for his first adventure out in the snow just as soon as we get some more! As for me, I got him a radio controlled locust! I was going to get him a clockwork beetle but I thought that he might be getting a little bit old for that kind of thing so a locust it was. You should have seen his eyes light up when he unwrapped it. For the rest of the afternoon I sat there watching him skitter around the carpet chasing it underneath the furniture. What it is to be young! And as a special treat I bought him a box of chocolate coated scorpions, yum yum!

On a more serious note I would like to thank my brother Chris for the superb top of the range hi-fi quality speakers that I can plug into my laptop. At long last I can listen to music more or less as it should be heard. Thanks also to Jason and Chery for the lovely warm looking fleece jacket that I will be able to wear when I start going out in my wheelchair during the colder months.

Before signing off I would like to say a big thank you to Suja and Debbie for providing the lionโ€™s share of my care over the Christmas break and to Ann for helping out and cooking me a delicious Christmas meal. I really must have a word with her about portion sizes. With my pitiful appetite even I was surprised by how much I managed to eat… and that was even before I started tackling the sherry trifle!

I’ll leave you with a few pictures taken over the Christmas holiday.

With my furry little friend on Christmas day

With my little friend proudly showing off his winter collection that auntie Debbie knitted for him. Check out the tail warmer ๐Ÿ™‚

With a very contented meerkat who has just eaten a whole box of chocolate coated scorpions ๐Ÿ™‚

Father Meerkat has come to join the fun!

With my brother Jason and Chery on Boxing Day

With my brother Jason and Chery on Boxing Day, oh and a certain little someone!

Mark

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to Tuesday, December 28th 2010

  1. Barbara says:

    Howdy, Mark.
    Oh, I could say how much we love you and admire you and what an inspiration you are: all true… yep!!!
    But I say instead: What a jolly, handsome (yes, sir!!) and sporting fellow you are. I worry you will be chilled when you go out of doors on your new patio. Are you too large to don the meerkat togs???? You would look dashing in them, indeed! But meerkats have been known to be possessive of their garb. Dang!

    Happy New Year from central California—
    where we have never, ever seen the likes of you.
    xx
    b

  2. sweat pea says:

    Hi Mark, great pics of the meerkats. think of you often and all the funny times that we shared. Wishing you a happy new year XX

Leave a Reply

