Thursday, March 3rd 2011

Bits and pieces

I’m sitting here relaxing at my computer feeling very contented. I’ve just eaten a delicious toasted bacon and cheese melt sandwich that Kim had made me for my lunch. Not long before that I had been enjoying an Indian head massage courtesy of the lovely Sheila, one of the complimentary therapists at my local hospice. Now I’m just sitting back and relaxing and casting my mind back over recent events so I can get them into some kind of order in readiness for updating the blog.

We had the builders return in recent weeks to do a couple of little jobs for me. The first was to improve the performance of the shower system in the wet room. I’d not been happy with the temperature of the water since I first started using it. At best it could be described as warm even when set to maximum, but now they have tinkered with it the water runs much hotter and I can finally leave the wet room looking like a lobster if I so desire!

The second job they did for me was to fix a flat screen TV to the wall at the far end of the bed. This will make a significant difference and open up options for late evening entertainment, breakfast news or indeed allow for times when perhaps I am not well and need to stay in bed all day. And because the TV is fitted with Freeview it means that I also have access to radio stations as well. All of this is controllable via my Possum environmental control system which sits on a stand beside the bed. Finally I no longer have to try and get to sleep as soon as I am put to bed.

We seem to be suffering from a plague of ants in the new extension. We started noticing them shortly after I moved in. At first it was just the occasional one on the bedroom walls. Then we started noticing one or two in the bathroom. More recently we’ve been seeing half a dozen or more at a time crawling over the bathroom floor. Presumably they must have been disturbed during the building process but where they are getting in is anybody’s guess. We’re planning to capture one and radio tag it so I can track it on Google maps in the hope that it will lead me back to its nest! Picture the scene: a lone warrior ant returns to the nest and says “hey Queenie, look what the nice man gave me, this lovely orange stick with a sparkler attached!” And Queenie says “Why is that clock counting down?” I know, I’m bad. He he… On a more serious note a couple of days ago we had our first clue where they might be getting in and now we have coated the area with ant spray several times we’ve hardly seen any.

I’ve been suffering from some broadband woes this week. Last Sunday I lost all access to the Internet. My laptop was able to communicate with the router but the router was not able to connect to the Internet. This situation persisted for a few days whilst we tried to get BT to send out an engineer. Eventually they did and after conducting various tests concluded that it was the router at fault. Thankfully they replaced it, not only with a new one but also a new model released only last month. Within minutes everything was back up and running again so hopefully that will be the end of my troubles. But for those few days when I was cut off from the rest of the world it made me realise once again how dependent I am on technology and how we as a society have become so interwoven with the Internet. Just a few days away from it and we start to feel withdrawal symptoms. Perhaps I need to consider a contingency plan in case it should ever go down again for any length of time. Maybe it might be a good idea to look into the feasibility of investing in a mobile broadband dongle for emergencies.

And finally just before I sign off I would like to say thank you for all the lovely comments that have been left recently. I’ve really enjoyed reading them all.

Mark

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to Thursday, March 3rd 2011

  1. sweet pea says:

    i have not forgotten . i will visit soon. that’s if the ants have not moved you out . poor little things unearthing them from there cosy shrub. hehehe

  2. Laura Hopkins, Chicago says:

    Hello Mark,

    My husband was diagnosed September of 2010. His abilities have slowly been deteriorating. I’m very happy to have found your blog. I’ve read through many of your entries and I’ll continue to do so. You’re courage is inspiring!

  3. david g says:

    Dear Mark
    I feel I know you so well by now although this is the first time you heard of me.I found my way to your site because for some time I have been experiencing a lot of problems with this body and I was aware of the effects this awful disease leads to as I read a lot on it recently as I am unclear about my own problems which are progressing slowly.
    Your diaries I have gone to the start and read over a period of time until now where I am up to date, you have helped me a lot without knowing and I should have replied as I went along,I know it is good to here from people so I apologise for that.
    I am pretty much sure the time and effort you give to educate and put it out there exactly how life is daily with MND has helped so many,and I struggled when I read that care was taken away at one point but you now got the people back, what I feel is that even if I was given a diagnosis of MND that one has no choice but to be strong as you have to push and push for what you need and in a weird sense some of the pushing is ok
    I hope you keep posting although the amount is understandable and theres loads I wanna say etc, as I say one feels you know the person who has shared there life with others thanks so much mark

Leave a Reply

