Wednesday, March 23rd 2011

The joy of fresh air

We’re into the joys of spring and mother nature is awakening in a profusion of colour and sound. And what a contrast it is compared to last spring when the best I could hope for was a vase of cut flowers on my desk brought in from the garden by my kind hearted carers! Yes, moving to a downstairs living environment is really starting to come into its own now that the weather is improving and we have longer daylight hours in which to enjoy it. Vanessa, Kim and Debbie have all been treating me lately to walks around the housing estate both in the morning and afternoon. Fortunately where I live there are plenty of green spaces, trees and shrubs, and the air is quite often filled with birdsong so it feels really soothing being pushed along and just relaxing whilst taking in all the sights and sounds.

Today Kim and I ventured further and began retracing some of the steps I would take when I used to go out cycling and walking. Parked by a wooden bench halfway along a gravel track (which was not the most comfortable surface to be on when in a wheelchair) I gazed around at the gently rolling green fields with a tinge of sadness. It was around two years ago that I made my last few feeble attempts at walking this path alone. I remembered how as the weeks went by the distance I was able to walk gradually contracted until I no longer had the strength or the confidence to attempt it. I remembered how there had been times when I was so tired I had to sit on one of the park benches for 15 or so minutes all the while worried about whether I would have the energy to stand up by myself again and what I would do if I couldn’t. Worrying times indeed. Fortunately those days are now over and today I was able to enjoy just being out in the fresh air without a care in the world. And what a morning it has been too with the sun beating down from a clear blue sky. In fact it was so warm that I didn’t even need to be wrapped up like I usually am when venturing out. There was even a gentle breeze to enjoy when we reached higher ground. Well I enjoyed it but I think poor Kim was too busy catching her breath after pushing me and a heavy wheelchair up the incline!

But it is not just walks around the neighbourhood that bring the benefit of fresh air as I have now started using my new level access patio. Now that the outside temperature has been steadily improving it has allowed me to sit out in the garden whilst having my morning coffee break. It’s nice to be able to just sit there watching the antics of the birds and neighbourhood cats whilst admiring some of the shrubs coming in to bloom such as the Forsythia, now a blaze of yellow, or the Magnolia which is a mass of white flowers. Today Kim and I even had our lunch out there once we got back from our walk as it was so warm. I have to say this home extension was a long time coming but it really is making a tremendous difference to my quality of life, and for that I am truly grateful.

Mark

Bookmark and Share

2 Responses to Wednesday, March 23rd 2011

  1. Jason Glover says:

    Glad to hear your enjoying the fresh air, brother. It was really nice today as well.

  2. david g says:

    Hi Mark
    Yes the weather has been really uplifting here to in suffolk, it certainly makes a difference to see all the colours around us lit up with sunlight long may it last.
    Nice to hear from you.
    David

Leave a Reply

